top of page
DSC05632.jpg

Supported Innovaton Hub Projects

To effectively bring insights and new ideas from the sciences into political debates, researchers need specific competencies, networks, and visibility. This is precisely what the Franxini Innovation Hub funding program offers.

 

The supported projects are selected from the annual Reatch Ideas Competition. Within the framework of the Ideas Competition, the Franxini project seeks innovative ideas for the future. Over the past years, we have supported various projects.

2024

Democracy Diagnosis in Switzerland

How can we collectively identify and effectively address challenges of the Swiss democratic system in order to ensure its capacity to face the challenges of the 21st century?

This project aims to develop an innovative process for democratic diagnosis that involves voters, the wider society and relevant stakeholders in a constructive dialogue to identify the important leverage point and key questions. The first step in the coming months will be to look at the relationship between science and politics in the Swiss democratic system.

 

Demokratie Diagnose.png

Robotic Permaculture

What role can the current developments in robotics and AI have in supporting new land use strategies for food production and forestry in Switzerland?

This project strives to scale permacultures with the help of robotics and AI. Thus producing affordable and nutritious food in a sustainable fashion. The goal is to autonomously turn a previous monoculture into a resilient system of diverse plants, animals, fungi and bacteria. To do this two AIs need to be trained: A generative one to devise the permaculture and an iterative one for operational control while building and maintaining it.

​​

Robotische Permakultur.png

2023

Al-driven information inequalities in
Switzerland in the context of popular votes

How can science and society collaborate to prevent search engines from potentially providing unequal access to information about popular votes in Switzerland?

information inequalities.jpg

BEready: Bern, get ready for the next pandemic. Together with research, population, and politics

What can we do together to better prepare the Canton of Bern for

the next pandemic?

beready.jpg

Victims of sexualized violence in focus

What does the support of victims of sexual violence look like in the cantons? How can we improve the support situation for rape victims nationally or in a selected canton by bringing in expertise from medicine, victim support, and legal sciences?

16tage-02_lightbox-e1669042501117.jpg

2021

Algorithmic Bias. Building transparency and equality of opportunity in an algorithmic society.

Do discriminatory algorithmic decision-making systems only reflect what is already there?

Spielfiguren.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
DSC05632.jpg

Innovation Hub Förderprojekte

Um Erkenntnisse und neue Ideen aus den Wissenschaften effektiv in politische Debatten zu bringen, brauchen Forschende spezifische Kompetenzen, Netzwerke und Sichtbarkeit. Genau dies bietet das Franxini Innovation Hub Förderprogramm an.

 

Die Projekte für das Förderprogramm werden aus dem jährlichen Reatch Ideenwettbewerb ausgewählt. Im Rahmen des Ideenwettbewerbs sucht das Franxini-Projekt nach zündende Ideen für die Zukunft. In den letzten Jahren haben wir verschiedene Projekte begleitet.

2024

Demokratie-Diagnose

Wie können wir gemeinsam die Herausforderungen des demokratischen Systems der Schweiz erkennen und wirksam angehen, um sicherzustellen, dass es den Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts bewältigen kann?

Dieses Projekt hat zum Ziel, einen innovativen Prozess zur demokratischen Diagnose zu entwickeln, bei dem Stimmbürger*innen, die breitere Gesellschaft sowie relevante Stakeholder gemeinsam miteinbezogen sind. Indem diese Akteure in einen konstruktiven Dialog treten, können sie die tatsächlichen Knackpunkte und Schlüsselfragen identifizieren. 

Project lead: Victor Sanchez-Mazas

DSC05608.jpg

Robotische Permakultur

Welche Rolle können die aktuellen Entwicklungen in Robotik und Künstlicher Intelligenz bei der Unterstützung neuer Landnutzungsstrategien für die Nahrungsmittelproduktion und die Forstwirtschaft in der Schweiz spielen?

Permakulturen sollen mithilfe von Robotik und künstlicher Intelligenz skaliert werden. Dadurch sollen erschwingliche, nahrhafte Lebensmittel auf nachhaltige Weise produziert werden. Das Ziel besteht darin, eine zuvor betriebene Monokultur autonom in ein belastbares System aus vielfältigen Pflanzen, Tieren, Pilzen und Bakterien zu verwandeln. Hierfür müssen zwei KIs trainiert werden: Eine generative KI, um die Permakultur zu entwerfen, und eine iterative KI für die operationelle Steuerung während des Aufbaus und der Pflege.

Project lead: Yarik Kuznetsov

DSC05613.jpg

2023

Volksabstimmungen und Algorithmen in der Schweiz: Intransparente Priorisierung von politischen Informationen

Wie können Wissenschaften und Gesellschaft zusammenarbeiten, um zu vermeiden, dass Suchmaschinen einen potenziell ungleichen Zugang zu Information über Volksabstimmungen in der Schweiz bieten?

information inequalities.jpg

BEready: Bern, get ready für die nächste Pandemie. Zusammen mit der Forschung, Bevölkerung und Politik.

Was können wir zusammen tun, damit der Kanton Bern besser auf die nächste Pandemie vorbereitet ist?

beready.jpg

Opfer sexualisierter Gewalt im Fokus

Wie sieht die Betreuung von Opfer sexualisierter in den Kantonen aus? Wie können wir national oder in einem ausgewählten Kanton mittels Einbringung von Expertise aus Medizin, Opferhilfe und Rechtswissenschaften die Betreuungslage von Vergewaltigungsopfer verbessern?

16tage-02_lightbox-e1669042501117.jpg

2021

Algorithmic Bias. Building transparency and equality of opportunity in an algorithmic society.

Algorithmen sind in unserer Gesellschaft allgegenwärtig. Sie beeinflussen, was wir kaufen, wen wir daten, wer unsere Freunde sind und welche Nachrichten wir sehen - und das sind nur einige Beispiele.

Spielfiguren.jpg
bottom of page