top of page

BEready: Bern, get ready
for the next pandemic.
Together with research, population, and politics.

beready.jpg

What can we do together to better prepare the Canton of Bern for the next pandemic?

Project Objective

Our challenge is to raise awareness among the Bernese population about the concept of preparing for and researching future pandemics and to actively engage them in this process. When the next pandemic strikes, we aim to be ready with research studies to investigate the impact of the infection on the people in the Canton of Bern. BEready will be a so-called cohort study of households, meaning we will collect data from adults, children, and pets in households over an extended period.

Together with the Franxini Innovation Hub, we aim to explore effective communication strategies with the population and political decision-makers to inspire their support and participation in research that will enhance preparation and response to future pandemics.

November and December 2022

Reatch Ideas Competition 2022. The project group submits an idea and is selected for the Franxini Innovation Hub.

February 2, 2023

Kick-off Franxini Innovation Hub. Initial steps as a project group are taken.

March 17, 2023

Franxini Boot Camp Sprint for Innovation Hub participants, in order to understand how their issue can best be brought to politics.

June 9, 2023

Storytelling  Workshop for Franxini Innovation Hub participants.

September to November 2023

Preparation for the briefing from the Grand Council - the parliament of the Canton of Bern.

Project Team

The BEready team consists of dedicated researchers from the University of Bern who are passionately committed to preparing for future pandemics. With the BEready project, they aim to assist the people in the Canton of Bern in being better prepared for the next pandemic.

bottom of page

top of page

BEready: Berne, prépare-toi à la prochaine pandémie – avec la science, la population et la politique

beready.jpg

Que pouvons-nous faire ensemble pour que le canton de Berne soit mieux préparé à la prochaine pandémie ?

Objectif du projet

Notre défi consiste à sensibiliser la population bernoise au concept de préparation et de recherche sur de futures pandémies et à la faire participer activement. Dans le cas où une nouvelle pandémie se déclarerait, nous voulons être dans les starting-blocks pour examiner comment l'infection affecte les habitant·es du canton de Berne grâce à nos études. BEready sera une étude dite de cohorte de ménages, c'est-à-dire que nous collecterons des données sur les adultes, les enfants et les animaux domestiques dans les ménages sur une longue période.

En collaboration avec le Franxini Innovation Hub, nous voulons explorer les moyens de communiquer efficacement avec la population et les décideur·ses politiques afin de les inciter à soutenir et à participer à la recherche qui améliorera la préparation et la réponse aux futures pandémies.

Novembre et décembre 2022

Concours d'idées Reatch 2022. Le groupe de projet soumet une idée et est sélectionné pour le Franxini Innovation.

2 février 2023

Coup d'envoi du Franxini Innovation Hub. Les premiers pas du groupe de projet sont effectués.

17 mars 2023

Boot Camp Sprint pour les participant·es du Franxini Hub afin de comprendre comment présenter au mieux la cause de leur projet auprès des politiques. 

9 juin 2023

Atelier de storytelling pour les participants du Franxini Innovation Hub.

Septembre à novembre 2023

Préparatifs pour un briefing du Grand Conseil à Berne.

L'équipe du projet

L'équipe BEready est composée de chercheur·ses de l'Université de Berne, qui s'investissent avec passion pour la préparation aux futures pandémies. Avec le projet BEready, ils souhaitent aider les habitant·es du canton de Berne à mieux se préparer à une prochaine pandémie.

bottom of page